Latin-X Literature

Hades, Argentina: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593188644
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - January 12th, 2021

CENTER FOR FICTION FIRST NOVEL PRIZE LONGLIST

“A debut novel as impressive as they come. Tough, wily, dreamlike.” Seattle Times


A decade after fleeing for his life, a man is pulled back to Argentina by an undying love.


The Dangers of Smoking in Bed: Stories Cover Image
By Mariana Enriquez, Megan McDowell (Translated by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593134078
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hogarth - January 12th, 2021

SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE • “The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery” (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges.


Clap When You Land Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062882769
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 5th, 2020

In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives.


Inventing Latinos: A New Story of American Racism Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781595589170
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Press - August 25th, 2020

Named One of the Best Books of the Year by NPR

A timely and groundbreaking argument that all Americans must grapple with Latinos' dynamic racial identity--because it impacts everything we think we know about race in America


The Undocumented Americans Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399592683
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: One World - March 24th, 2020

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • One of the first undocumented immigrants to graduate from Harvard reveals the hidden lives of her fellow undocumented Americans in this deeply personal and groundbreaking portrait of a nation.


Once I Was You: A Memoir of Love and Hate in a Torn America Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982128654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - September 15th, 2020

NPR’s Best Books of 2020
BookPage’s Best Books of 2020
Real Simple’s Best Books of 2020
Boston.com readers voted one of Best Books of 2020

“Anyone striving to understand and improve this country should read her story.” —Gloria Steinem, author of My Life on the Road


I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524700515
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - March 5th, 2019

National Book Award Finalist!
Instant New York Times Bestseller!

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
meets Jane the Virgin in this poignant but often laugh-out-loud funny contemporary YA about losing a sister and finding yourself amid the pressures, expectations, and stereotypes of growing up in a Mexican American home. 


Bodega Dreams Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780375705892
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - March 14th, 2000

In this "thriller with literary merit" (Time Out New York), a stunning narrative combines the gritty rhythms of Junot Diaz with the noir genius of Walter Mosley.


American Like Me: Reflections on Life Between Cultures Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501180927
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - September 3rd, 2019

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From award-winning actress and political activist America Ferrera comes a vibrant and varied collection of first-person accounts from prominent figures about the experience of growing up between cultures.

America Ferrera has always felt wholly American, and yet, her identity is inextricably linked to her parents’ homeland


Body of Render Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781597099752
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - April 21st, 2020

Body of Render explores the internal and external impacts on our humanity when political, national, and societal decisions strip away our basic human rights. What does it mean to be an underrepresented individual in a country where the most powerful seat in the land unashamedly perpetuates racist, misogynistic, homophobic, and classist behaviors?


The Cuban Comedy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781944700874
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Unnamed Press - July 9th, 2019

A literary triumph. --NBC News
A love story steeped in political satire, poetry, and the lightest touches of magical realism, Medina has created a bold, funny narrative with an uncanny heroine at its core: Elena of Piedra Negra, Cuba.


The Spirit of Science Fiction: A Novel Cover Image
By Roberto Bolaño, Natasha Wimmer (Translated by)
$24.00
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780735222854
Published: Penguin Press - February 5th, 2019

From a master of contemporary fiction, a tale of bohemian youth on the make in Mexico City


Little Eyes: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780525541363
Published: Riverhead Books - May 5th, 2020

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR

"Her most unsettling work yet — and her most realistic." --New York Times

Named a Best Book of the Year by The New York TimesO, The Oprah Magazine, NPR, Vulture, Bustle, Refinery29, and Thrillist


Latinx Superheroes in Mainstream Comics (Latinx Pop Culture) Cover Image
By Frederick Luis Aldama, John Jennings (Foreword by), Javier Hernandez (Afterword by)
$22.95
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780816537082
Published: University of Arizona Press - October 10th, 2017

Winner of the 2018 Eisner Award Winner for Best Scholarly/Academic Work

Whether good or evil, beautiful or ugly, smart or downright silly, able-bodied or differently abled, gay or straight, male or female, young or old, Latinx superheroes in mainstream comic book stories are few and far between.


My Time Among the Whites: Notes from an Unfinished Education Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250299437
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - September 3rd, 2019

From the author of Make Your Home Among Strangers, essays on being an “accidental” American—an incisive look at the edges of identity for a woman of color in a society centered on whiteness


Hatemonger: Stephen Miller, Donald Trump, and the White Nationalist Agenda Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062986719
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - August 11th, 2020

“A vital book for understanding the still-unfolding nightmare of nationalism and racism in the 21st century.” –Francisco Cantu, author of The Line Becomes a River


Sanctuary Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984815712
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Co-founder of the Women's March makes her YA debut in a near future dystopian where a young girl and her brother must escape a xenophobic government to find sanctuary.


Against Amazon: And Other Essays (Biblioasis International Translation #30) Cover Image
By Jorge Carrión, Peter Bush (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781771963039
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Biblioasis - November 17th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES NEW & NOTEWORTHY BOOK


One Hundred Years of Solitude Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780060883287
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - February 21st, 2006

"One Hundred Years of Solitude is the first piece of literature since the Book of Genesis that should be required reading for the entire human race. . . . Mr.


Cockfight Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781936932825
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Feminist Press - May 5th, 2020

This Ecuadorian short story collection explores domestic horrors and everyday violence, a grotesque, unflinching portrait of twenty-first-century Latin America (Publishers Weekly).


The Houseguest: And Other Stories Cover Image
By Amparo Dávila, Matthew Gleeson (Translated by), Audrey Harris (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811228213
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Directions - November 27th, 2018

The first collection in English of an endlessly surprising, master storyteller