Children BIPOC Books

Somos Como Las Nubes / We Are Like the Clouds By Jorge Argueta, Alfonso Ruano (Illustrator), Elisa Amado (Translator) Cover Image
By Jorge Argueta, Alfonso Ruano (Illustrator), Elisa Amado (Translator)
$18.95
This book is either backordered or a preorder! Please email for more information
ISBN: 9781554988495
Published: Groundwood Books - October 11th, 2016

An eloquent and timely plea for understanding refugees.

Why are young people leaving their country to walk to the United States to seek a new, safe home? Over 100,000 such children have left Central America. This book of poetry helps us to understand why and what it is like to be them.


The Year We Learned to Fly By Jacqueline Woodson, Rafael López (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, Rafael López (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399545535
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - January 4th, 2022

Jacqueline Woodson and Rafael López's highly anticipated companion to their #1 New York Times bestseller The Day You Begin illuminates the power in each of us to face challenges with confidence.


Nigel and the Moon By Antwan Eady, Gracey Zhang (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Antwan Eady, Gracey Zhang (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063056282
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 15th, 2022

From debut author Antwan Eady and artist Gracey Zhang comes a glowing tale about the young dreaming big. A perfect story to demonstrate how pride in where we come from can bring a shining confidence.

When Nigel looks up at the moon, his future is bright. He imagines himself as…an astronaut, a dancer, a superhero, too!


Eyes That Speak to the Stars By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063057753
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - February 15th, 2022

New York Times bestselling team Joanna Ho and Dung Ho present Eyes That Speak to the Stars, companion to the acclaimed Eyes That Kiss in the Corners.

“A brilliant treatise to love of self and heritage.” —School Library Journal (starred review)


Across the Bay By Carlos Aponte, Carlos Aponte (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Carlos Aponte, Carlos Aponte (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524786625
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 17th, 2019

RECIPIENT OF THE PURA BELPRÉ ILLUSTRATOR HONOR

Author-illustrator Carlos Aponte takes readers on a journey to the heart of Puerto Rico in this enchanting picture book set in Old San Juan.


"A lively and honest story about filling voids and exploring what defines a family--as well as a love letter to a childhood home."--Horn Book


Just Ask!: Be Different, Be Brave, Be You By Sonia Sotomayor, Rafael López (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sonia Sotomayor, Rafael López (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525514121
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - September 3rd, 2019

Justice Sonia Sotomayor and award-winning artist Rafael Lopez create a kind and caring book about the differences that make each of us unique.

A #1 New York Times bestseller!

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award!


Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe By Paloma Valdivia Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593305140
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 11th, 2021

A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a parent and child in the tradition of Runaway Bunny and The Wonderful Things You Will Be, from a New York Times bestselling creator.

If I were a sheep, you would be a lamb.
If I were a bear, you would be a cub.


Areli Is a Dreamer: A True Story by Areli Morales, a DACA Recipient By Areli Morales, Luisa Uribe (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Areli Morales, Luisa Uribe (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984893994
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Studio - June 8th, 2021

In the first picture book written by a DACA Dreamer, Areli Morales tells her own powerful and vibrant immigration story.

When Areli was just a baby, her mama and papa moved from Mexico to New York with her brother, Alex, to make a better life for the family--and when she was in kindergarten, they sent for her, too.
 


First 100 Words: Bilingual Firsts By Susie Jaramillo Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781945635298
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Encantos - May 4th, 2021

From the Emmy-nominated, award-winning bilingual preschool series Canticos, comes First 100 Words, a part of the Canticos Bilingual Firsts collection.


If Dominican Were a Color By Sili Recio, Brianna McCarthy (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sili Recio, Brianna McCarthy (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534461796
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books f - September 22nd, 2020

The colors of Hispaniola burst into life in this striking, evocative debut picture book that celebrates the joy of being Dominican.

If Dominican were a color, it would be the sunset in the sky, blazing red and burning bright.
If Dominican were a color, it’d be the roar of the ocean in the deep of the night,
With the moon beaming down rays of sheer delig


Festival of Colors (Classic Board Books) By Surishtha Sehgal, Kabir Sehgal, Vashti Harrison (Illustrator) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534478176
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Simon - January 5th, 2021

Holi, Hai! Holi, Hai! It’s time to prepare for the Indian springtime Festival of Colors in this delightful Classic Board Book!

It’s time for the Indian festival of Holi, a celebration of the start of spring, of new beginnings, and of good over evil.


Where Three Oceans Meet By Rajani LaRocca, Archana Sreenivasan (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419741296
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - August 24th, 2021

 A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in this picture book that celebrates multigenerational love—perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma.

“I want to see what’s at the end of the earth!”
    
Sejal, Mommy, and Pati travel together to the southern tip of India.


I Am Golden By Eva Chen, Sophie Diao (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Eva Chen, Sophie Diao (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250842053
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - February 1st, 2022

An Instant New York Times Bestseller!

This joyful and lyrical picture book from New York Times bestselling author Eva Chen and illustrator Sophie Diao is a moving ode to the immigrant experience, as well as a manifesto of self-love for Chinese American children.


What do you see when you look in the mirror, Mei? Do you see beauty?