La Guitarrista (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
La Guitarrista By Lucky Diaz, Micah Player (Illustrator) Cover Image

La Guitarrista (Hardcover)

By Lucky Diaz, Micah Player (Illustrator)

$19.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

From the creators of Paletero Man—Latin Grammy–winning musician Lucky Diaz and celebrated artist Micah Player—comes a story about a tenacious girl who achieves her wildest dreams with a little help from her community and a broken guitar. 

Strum! Strum! Strum! Get ready to rock with la guitarrista!

When Canta finds a guitar in the trash, she is one step closer to becoming a rock star. Even though the guitar is broken and she doesn’t know how to play, nothing can stop Canta from going after her dreams!

Perfect for fans of Because and We Will Rock Our Classmates, readers will rock out to this empowering tale of resilience, community, the power of music—and never giving up on your dreams.

The book includes Spanish words and phrases throughout, an author’s note from Lucky Diaz, and a link to the song inspired by the book.

Lucky Diaz is a bilingual, songwriting, taco-eating, multi–Latin Grammy Award–winning, GRAMMY nominated and six-time Emmy–nominated musician, children’s television personality and author. His work has been praised by NPR, Billboard magazine, People magazine and the New York Times. He is a Parent’s Choice Gold Award and NAPPA Award winner. In 2020, his album Buenos Diaz was named an official selection of notable works for children by the American Library Association. Lucky’s debut picture book, Paletero Man, has been celebrated with a Kirkus Star, SLJ Star, Publisher’s Weekly Star and Book List Star. He currently lives in a house on a hill in Los Angeles with his wife Alisha, daughter Indiana, and their dog Django. luckydiazmusic.comwww.luckydiazmusic.com



Micah Player began his career designing and illustrating for Paul Frank Industries in Southern California. He is the author of Chloe, Instead and the illustrator of several books and games for children, including Vote for Our Future! and Friday Night Wrestlefest. He lives in a little house beneath a giant tree in the Utah mountains, with a lovely schoolteacher named Stephanie. They are the parents of two rad kids, one Yorkshire terrier, and several Casio keyboards. His favorite paleta is fresas con crema. www.micahplayer.com

Product Details ISBN: 9780063254152
ISBN-10: 0063254158
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English

Told with unitalicized Spanish and English intertwined, the rhymes are appropriately melodic, and the art is vibrant, full of warm tones and round-faced characters full of expression. It’s a combination that works: a heartfelt story of a neighborhood coming together to help a little girl’s dream come true and engaging illustrations that deliver. An inspiring story of perseverance.  — Kirkus Reviews

The rhyming of this story only enhances the rhythm of the guitar readers might imagine playing in the background as they read. The illustrations are vibrant and add to the feel of the story, showcasing diverse characters and the energy of the Los Angeles neighborhood where it is set. With English and Spanish text, this book could be used to foster social and emotional learning, as well as highlighting diversity. VERDICT A recommended purchase that will be fun to share as a read-aloud and inspire readers to follow the song in their hearts. — School Library Journal