2022 Middle Grade Readers

These are the amazing BIPOC books coming out for elementary-middle grade readers 

Intended for ages 8-14 

Grades 3+

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
Amari and the Great Game (Supernatural Investigations #2) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062975195
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - August 30th, 2022

Sequel to the New York Times bestseller Amari and the Night Brothers!


Witchlings Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338745528
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - April 5th, 2022

An instant New York Times Bestseller! Disney's The Owl House meets Nevermoor, in a brilliant new adventure from Claribel A.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Morning Sun In Wuhan Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358572053
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Clarion Books - November 8th, 2022

What was the pandemic of the century like at the start? This swift, gripping novel captures not only the uncertainty and panic when COVID first emerged in Wuhan, but also how a community banded together.


Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593426579
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 26th, 2022

An epic new fantasy series inspired by Chinese mythology that #1 New York Times bestselling author Kwame Mbalia calls "a hilarious tussle between homework, family, and heroism." When a girl awakens the stuff of legends from an old family recipe, she must embrace her extraordinary heritage to save the world.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Adrift Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374389659
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - September 6th, 2022

From the author of All You Knead Is Love and How to Make Friends with the Sea, an upper middle grade contemporary story of survival and grief about two biracial Filipino cousins whose resilience is tested when one of them is lost at sea.


Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures, Vol. 2 Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781684058792
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: IDW Publishing - February 22nd, 2022

Journey to an even longer time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, and witness new adventures of Lula and her fellow Padawans in the Republic’s golden age!


Pre-Order Now Badge
Theo Tan and the Fox Spirit Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250794284
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - May 31st, 2022

After inheriting a grieving fox spirit, a Chinese American boy must learn to embrace his heritage to solve the mystery of his brother's death in Jesse Q Sutanto's magical, action-packed middle grade fantasy, Theo Tan and the Fox Spirit.


Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa (Pilar Ramirez Duology #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250774101
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 1st, 2022

The Land of Stories meets Dominican myths and legends come to life in Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa, a blockbuster contemporary middle-grade fantasy duology starter from Julian Randall. Fans of Tristan Strong and The Storm Runner, here is your next obsession.


Black Girls Unbossed: Young World Changers Leading the Way Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781506479231
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Beaming Books - March 22nd, 2022

Falling Short Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062881724
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 15th, 2022

Ernesto Cisneros, Pura Belpré Award-winning author of Efrén Divided, is back with a hilarious and heartfelt novel about two best friends who must rely on each other in unexpected ways. A great next pick for readers who loved Ghost by Jason Reynolds or The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Pérez.


Pre-Order Now Badge
You Only Live Once, David Bravo Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063008151
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 20th, 2022

From Mark Oshiro, award-winning author of The Insiders, this time-bending adventure is perfect for fans of Sal and Gabi Break the Universe and When You Reach Me.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Lost Ryu Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646141326
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Levine Querido - June 7th, 2022

Kohei Fujiwara has never seen a big ryū in real life. Those dragons all disappeared from Japan after World War II, and twenty years later, they've become the stuff of legend. Their smaller cousins, who can fit in your palm, are all that remain. And Kohei loves his ryū, Yuharu, but.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Etta Invincible Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534468375
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Aladdin - July 12th, 2022

In this touching debut middle grade novel, a girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and get entangled in their own fantastical adventure.

Twelve-year-old Etta Johnson has Loud Days where she can hear just fine and Quiet Days where sounds come from far away and she gets to retreat into her thoughts.